Charles James Randol bitcoin-for-cash business

🔴 High Risk

The Charles James Randol case illustrates a serious U.S. AML enforcement failure involving a Bitcoin-for-cash business that allegedly functioned as a laundering gateway for fraud and drug-trafficking proceeds. Although Randol’s company, Digital Coin Strategies LLC, was presented as a FinCEN-registered and “fully compliant” money-services business, prosecutors alleged that it processed anonymous high-value cash transactions, accepted cash concealed in mailed packages, permitted pseudonymous customers and information-free kiosk accounts, enabled potential structuring through repeated sub-$3,000 transactions, and failed to file required CTRs and SARs. These control failures allegedly allowed criminals to convert millions of dollars in illicit U.S. cash into Bitcoin and transfer it to customer-controlled wallets, obscuring the source and destination of funds. Randol agreed to plead guilty in 2023 to willfully failing to maintain an effective AML programme, demonstrating that formal registration and written compliance policies do not protect a crypto business when management knowingly fails to implement them in practice.

Charles James Randol operated a Southern California Bitcoin-for-cash exchange business, eventually called Digital Coin Strategies LLC, from approximately October 2017 through July 2021. The business exchanged U.S. cash and Bitcoin for a commission through in-person meetings, automated Bitcoin kiosks, and cash-by-mail transactions. Its physical business presence included kiosks across Los Angeles, Orange, and Riverside counties, while its postal method used post-office boxes or other locations controlled by Randol to receive large cash shipments.

Countries Involved

The case was principally a United States domestic financial-crime matter. The identified conduct, enforcement action, business operations, victim activity, cash movement, cryptocurrency conversion, and relevant government agencies were all connected to the United States. The available official DOJ case description does not identify a foreign country as a confirmed operational base, foreign jurisdiction, or overseas co-conspirator location. Accordingly, it would be inaccurate to portray this matter as a documented cross-border laundering network on the basis of the available public record.

The principal U.S. nexus was California, particularly Southern California. Randol was identified as a resident of Santa Monica, and his business operated Bitcoin kiosks in Los Angeles, Orange, and Riverside counties. The DOJ identified kiosk locations in or around Los Angeles, Glendale, Santa Clarita, Huntington Beach, Santa Ana, and Riverside. These kiosks were placed in high-footfall settings such as malls, gas stations, and convenience stores, providing accessible physical entry points for cash-to-Bitcoin transactions.

The case also involved a confirmed victim connection to New Jersey. Between June 2018 and early 2020, a New Jersey resident who was allegedly defrauded through a “grandparent scam” mailed cash that was processed through Randol’s operation. The victim reportedly believed the funds were necessary to assist a grandson facing criminal prosecution after a purported fatal traffic accident. The victim drained savings and retirement accounts as a result of the deception. Randol was not alleged to have participated in the predicate fraud, but his business allegedly converted the victim’s cash into cryptocurrency and transferred it to digital wallets without meaningful due diligence or source-of-funds scrutiny.

Federal investigation and prosecution were also U.S.-based. The FBI and Homeland Security Investigations led the investigation, with support from the FDIC Office of Inspector General and the U.S. Postal Inspection Service. The case was prosecuted by the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Central District of California.

The public enforcement milestone occurred on September 5, 2023, when the U.S. Department of Justice announced that Charles James Randol had agreed to plead guilty to a single-count information charging failure to maintain an effective AML programme. On the same date, the criminal information and plea agreement were filed in the U.S. District Court in downtown Los Angeles. The DOJ announcement marked the formal public reporting of the federal case and described the alleged laundering activity in detail.

The underlying conduct spanned approximately October 2017 through July 2021. During that period, Randol owned and operated the virtual-currency money-services business later known as Digital Coin Strategies LLC. Its business model included in-person transactions, Bitcoin kiosks, and cash-by-mail cryptocurrency conversions. The government’s timeline reflects a multi-year compliance failure rather than a single isolated transaction.

A key investigative event occurred on June 5, 2019, when FBI agents interviewed Randol about suspected fraud proceeds that had been mailed to post-office boxes he controlled. Two days later, Randol messaged a customer that he would take a “hiatus” from converting mailed cash into cryptocurrency because he had encountered an issue with law enforcement. According to the DOJ, he resumed processing cash parcels less than a week later after an anonymous customer sought to exchange $10,000 in cash for Bitcoin.

The DOJ also identified three specific cash-for-Bitcoin transactions conducted between October 2020 and January 2021, totaling $273,940. These transactions were central to the case because they allegedly occurred without collection of the buyer’s name, identification, Social Security number, or source-of-funds information, despite the business’s stated AML requirements for higher-value customers.

Following the plea proceedings, public local reporting stated that Randol was sentenced in January 2024 to four months’ imprisonment. The principal primary source for the underlying allegations remains the September 2023 DOJ release and the related plea material; the sentencing detail is reported by local media rather than in the DOJ release reviewed here.

Bitcoin (BTC). No other named cryptocurrency was identified in the primary DOJ announcement.

The core charged offense was willful failure to maintain an effective anti-money-laundering programme under U.S. federal financial-crime law. Randol agreed to plead guilty to one count arising from failures to comply with Bank Secrecy Act requirements applicable to his virtual-currency money-services business. The DOJ stated that the offense carried a statutory maximum sentence of five years in federal prison.

The case sits at the intersection of several U.S. AML risk categories: BSA/AML programme failure, failure to implement customer due diligence, inadequate recordkeeping, failure to file Currency Transaction Reports, failure to file Suspicious Activity Reports, transaction structuring, and laundering of proceeds derived from predicate offenses. The predicate criminal conduct identified by the government included fraud schemes and drug trafficking. The case did not charge Randol with personally committing each underlying predicate offense; rather, it alleged that the deficiently controlled exchange service functioned as the financial-conversion layer through which criminal proceeds could be laundered.

The business allegedly accepted anonymous or pseudonymous counterparties for large cash transactions, including transactions exceeding $10,000. The DOJ described customers known by names such as “Puppet Shariff,” “White Jetta,” “Aaavvv,” “Aaaa,” “Yogurt Monster,” and “Hood.” Accepting high-value cash while failing to establish the customer’s true identity and source of funds is a major AML control failure and can facilitate placement and conversion of illicit proceeds.

The allegations also involved concealment from law enforcement. The DOJ stated that Randol facilitated suspicious transactions and took steps to conceal them, including by not filing required CTRs and SARs. This alleged reporting failure was central because mandatory reports serve as a key U.S. mechanism for giving FinCEN and law-enforcement agencies visibility into large cash movements, suspicious transactions, potential structuring, fraud proceeds, and money-laundering indicators.

The principal business entity was Digital Coin Strategies LLC, a virtual-currency money-services business operated by Charles James Randol. The company was previously known as Bitcoins4Less. It offered cryptocurrency-for-cash exchange services in the United States for a commission, including physical cash-to-Bitcoin conversions, in-person exchanges, and kiosk-based activity.

The business was reportedly registered with the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network, or FinCEN, a bureau of the U.S. Department of the Treasury. However, the DOJ said the company’s website falsely represented it as a “fully compliant” money-services business. This distinction is critical in compliance analysis: FinCEN registration does not exempt a business from maintaining an effective written AML programme, conducting customer identification and verification, monitoring activity, filing required reports, and responding appropriately to suspicious transaction indicators.

The financial infrastructure of the enterprise included a network of automated Bitcoin kiosks placed in malls, petrol stations, and convenience stores across Southern California. The kiosks operated in cities including Los Angeles, Glendale, Santa Clarita, Huntington Beach, Santa Ana, and Riverside. Randol also controlled post-office boxes and other locations used to receive large cash parcels from customers, creating a postal channel for anonymous cash-to-crypto conversion.

Key U.S. government entities included the FBI, Homeland Security Investigations, the FDIC Office of Inspector General, and the U.S. Postal Inspection Service, all of which assisted in the investigation. The prosecution was handled by the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Central District of California, including Assistant U.S. Attorneys Ian V. Yanniello of the General Crimes Section and James E. Dochterman of the Asset Forfeiture and Recovery Section.

The case also involved unidentified or pseudonymous customers, fraud victims, suspected scammers, and suspected drug traffickers. The official record does not publicly identify all customers or their ultimate wallet beneficiaries; therefore, they should be described as anonymous customers or alleged criminal users rather than attributed to named persons without documentary support.

No—no politically exposed person (PEP) involvement was identified in the publicly available U.S. Department of Justice case summary. The DOJ announcement does not name any current or former senior public official, politician, legislator, senior state-owned-enterprise executive, judge, military leader, family member of a politically exposed person, or known close associate of a PEP. The case concerns a privately operated U.S. cryptocurrency money-services business and alleged laundering of criminal proceeds associated with scammers and drug traffickers.

Charles James Randol was described by the DOJ as a Santa Monica resident and the owner/operator of a virtual-currency money-services business. The available source material does not indicate that he held a public office, had government decision-making authority, or qualified as a domestic or foreign PEP. Similarly, the anonymous, pseudonymous, or otherwise unidentified customers referenced in the DOJ release cannot properly be classified as PEPs on the available evidence.

For AML-reporting and investigative purposes, the correct characterization is therefore “No PEP involvement publicly reported”, rather than a categorical assertion that no PEP could possibly have used the service. The distinction matters. A public enforcement release may not disclose every customer identity, all wallet addresses, the full transaction dataset, or every potentially relevant risk attribute. Absence of a disclosed PEP does not independently prove that no politically exposed person ever interacted with the business; it only establishes that no such involvement was alleged or documented in the public materials reviewed.

The case’s risk profile was instead driven by non-PEP risk factors: anonymous cash handling, high-value transactions, use of aliases, suspiciously concealed currency in postal packages, encrypted communications, inadequate source-of-funds controls, multiple kiosk accounts, transaction splitting, test accounts lacking customer information, and missed suspicious-activity reporting. These are independently significant red flags regardless of whether a PEP is involved.

The alleged laundering techniques involved a combination of cash placement, rapid conversion into Bitcoin, anonymity, transaction structuring, and weak or bypassed AML controls. The business allegedly provided the conversion mechanism that moved physical U.S. currency—potentially derived from fraud or drug-trafficking activity—into Bitcoin wallets controlled by customers. This made the operation an alleged cash-to-virtual-asset laundering service within the United States.

One major method was anonymous in-person cash-for-Bitcoin exchange. Randol reportedly carried out frequent in-person transactions over $10,000 with customers he did not fully identify and, in some cases, knew only by aliases. The DOJ documented three transactions totaling $273,940 between October 2020 and January 2021 in which cash was exchanged for Bitcoin without obtaining identity information, Social Security numbers, or source-of-funds information. This failure allegedly bypassed both BSA obligations and the company’s own policy requiring verification for transactions over $9,999.

A second method was cash-by-mail conversion. Anonymous customers allegedly sent large cash parcels to post-office boxes or locations controlled by Randol. Customers used encrypted messaging to advise that cash had been shipped; Randol allegedly received and counted the money, retained a commission, and sent Bitcoin to customer-controlled wallets. The packages sometimes concealed cash in children’s books, fake gifts, puzzle pieces, or magazine layers. Such concealment features are strong money-laundering red flags because they suggest an effort to evade postal detection, obscure the true nature of the transfer, and reduce traceability.

A third method was structuring through Bitcoin kiosks. The DOJ alleged that customers could create multiple accounts and make consecutive transactions of up to $3,000, potentially fragmenting activity to avoid detection or reporting. Randol also created “test” accounts containing no customer information and permitted their use for customer kiosk transactions.

The U.S. Department of Justice stated that Randol admitted his BSA and AML failures resulted in criminals using his business to launder millions of dollars in criminal proceeds. The DOJ did not provide a precise aggregate dollar figure in the public announcement. Therefore, the most accurate value assessment is: “millions of U.S. dollars; exact total not publicly specified in the DOJ release.”

A specifically identified subset of suspicious activity involved $273,940 in cash, exchanged for Bitcoin across three transactions between October 2020 and January 2021. In these transactions, the DOJ stated that Randol failed to obtain basic customer identity data, government identification, Social Security numbers, or source-of-funds information. This amount should not be treated as the total laundered amount; it was presented by prosecutors as an example of transactions that illustrated the larger AML failure.

The value at risk also included hundreds of mailed cash transactions processed over the operating period. The official announcement does not disclose a total value for the postal cash stream, the total amount transacted through all kiosks, the volume of Bitcoin transmitted, the commissions earned, the number of associated wallet addresses, or the amount connected specifically to drug-trafficking proceeds as opposed to fraud proceeds. For a formal AML intelligence report, these absent fields should be marked as not publicly disclosed, not estimated through inference.

The grandparent-scam victim described in the release reportedly drained savings and retirement accounts after being deceived into believing funds were needed for a grandson’s supposed legal crisis. The DOJ did not disclose the individual victim’s specific loss amount. It did state that the cash was converted into cryptocurrency and forwarded to various digital wallets without Randol conducting due diligence or investigating the origin of the funds.

Accordingly, a defensible risk statement is that Digital Coin Strategies LLC was alleged to have processed an unspecified multi-million-dollar volume of criminal proceeds, including at least one documented $273,940 set of unverified cash-to-Bitcoin exchanges.

The alleged transaction flow had a straightforward but high-risk structure: criminally derived or suspicious U.S. cash entered Randol’s business; Randol or his kiosks converted that value into Bitcoin; the Bitcoin was delivered to customer-controlled wallets; and the business retained a commission. The model’s principal compliance weakness was not simply the use of cryptocurrency but the alleged acceptance and conversion of cash without meaningful identification, due diligence, source-of-funds review, transaction monitoring, or legally required reporting.

For mail transactions, a customer allegedly used encrypted text communication to tell Randol that a parcel containing cash had been sent to a post-office box or another location he controlled. Randol allegedly received the package, counted the cash, and transmitted the Bitcoin equivalent minus commission. The DOJ said there was no due diligence on the sender’s identity, the cash’s source, or the transaction’s purpose. Cash hidden in books, gifts, puzzle pieces, and magazines heightened the suspicious nature of the activity and should have triggered enhanced due diligence, an internal escalation, and consideration of SAR filing.

For direct exchanges, the DOJ identified repeated cash transactions above $10,000 involving anonymous or pseudonymous persons. The three specifically cited transactions totaled $273,940. Randol allegedly did not obtain names, identity documents, Social Security numbers, or source-of-funds information, notwithstanding a company policy requiring such information for transactions exceeding $9,999. These gaps limited the business’s ability to detect fraud victims, identify linked customers, establish beneficial ownership, or monitor wallet activity.

For Bitcoin kiosks, the system allegedly permitted multiple customer accounts, repeated transactions up to $3,000, and use of test accounts without customer data. This reportedly enabled structuring: dividing a larger cash sum into smaller increments to reduce reporting visibility or avoid thresholds. Randol allegedly ignored his compliance officer’s advice to discontinue use of the test accounts.

The DOJ also reported that Randol briefly paused mail-cash operations after an FBI interview on June 5, 2019 concerning suspected fraud proceeds, but resumed within days. This alleged resumption after direct law-enforcement contact is a relevant aggravating circumstance in assessing knowledge, recklessness, and the inadequacy of compliance remediation.

U.S. authorities initiated a federal criminal enforcement action against Charles James Randol in the Central District of California. On September 5, 2023, the government filed a single-count criminal information and a plea agreement. Randol agreed to plead guilty to willfully failing to maintain an effective AML programme in connection with his cryptocurrency money-services business. The charge carried a maximum potential federal prison sentence of five years.

The government action was based on Bank Secrecy Act and AML compliance failures. According to the DOJ, Randol admitted he violated federal law and his company’s internal AML policies by facilitating suspicious exchange transactions, failing to file required CTRs, failing to file required SARs, and taking steps to conceal suspicious activity from law enforcement. The formal charge demonstrates that U.S. AML enforcement can pursue an individual owner/operator of a virtual-asset business where programme failures are willful and enable financial crime.

The investigation involved several U.S. agencies: the FBI, Homeland Security Investigations, FDIC Office of Inspector General, and the U.S. Postal Inspection Service. Their involvement reflects the case’s multi-channel characteristics—virtual-currency exchange activity, cash transactions, suspected fraud proceeds, potential drug-trafficking proceeds, postal cash shipments, and use of physical kiosk infrastructure.

The matter was prosecuted by the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Central District of California. Assistant U.S. Attorneys Ian V. Yanniello and James E. Dochterman were identified by the DOJ as prosecutors in the case.

Public reporting in January 2024 stated that Randol received a four-month prison sentence. The DOJ press release itself covered the plea agreement and did not provide the final sentencing order or a full account of all sentencing conditions, restitution, forfeiture, supervised release, or financial penalties. These items should therefore not be inferred without obtaining the official court judgment or docket documents.

Charles James Randol bitcoin-for-cash business
Case Title / Operation Name:
Charles James Randol bitcoin-for-cash business
Country(s) Involved:
United States
Platform / Exchange Used:
Digital Coin Strategies LLC, formerly Bitcoins4Less; operated Bitcoin-for-cash exchange services, in-person cash trades, cash-by-mail transactions, and automated Bitcoin kiosks/BTMs.
Cryptocurrency Involved:

Bitcoin (BTC). No other named cryptocurrency was identified in the primary DOJ announcement.

Volume Laundered (USD est.):
Millions of U.S. dollars in criminal proceeds, according to the DOJ; exact aggregate value not publicly disclosed. A documented subset involved $273,940 in three inadequately verified cash-for-Bitcoin transactions between October 2020 and January 2021.
Wallet Addresses / TxIDs :
N/A
Method of Laundering:

Cash-to-Bitcoin conversion through in-person exchanges, Bitcoin kiosks, and cash-by-mail transactions. Anonymous or pseudonymous customer activity; cash concealed in books, magazines, puzzle pieces, and purported gifts; encrypted customer communications; transfer of Bitcoin to customer-controlled wallets after cash receipt; potential structuring through multiple kiosk accounts and repeated transactions up to $3,000; use of “test” accounts lacking customer information; inadequate KYC/CDD, source-of-funds checks, AML monitoring, CTR reporting, and SAR reporting.

Source of Funds:

Alleged proceeds of U.S. fraud schemes and drug trafficking. The DOJ specifically described a grandparent-scam victim whose cash was allegedly converted into Bitcoin through Randol’s business. The government stated that scammers and drug traffickers laundered millions of dollars through the operation.

Associated Shell Companies:

N/A

PEPs or Individuals Involved:

Charles James Randol — owner/operator of Digital Coin Strategies LLC / Bitcoins4Less. No PEP involvement was publicly reported. The DOJ referenced unidentified or pseudonymous customers, including persons described as “Puppet Shariff,” “White Jetta,” “Aaavvv,” “Aaaa,” “Yogurt Monster,” and “Hood.” These aliases should not be treated as verified identities.

Law Enforcement / Regulatory Action:
FBI, Homeland Security Investigations, FDIC Office of Inspector General, and U.S. Postal Inspection Service investigated. The U.S. Attorney’s Office for the Central District of California filed a single-count criminal information on September 5, 2023. Randol agreed to plead guilty to willfully failing to maintain an effective AML programme. Public reporting stated he was sentenced to four months’ imprisonment in January 2024.
Year of Occurrence:
2023 — publicly reported by DOJ on September 5, 2023. Underlying alleged laundering and AML-control failures occurred approximately from 2017 to 2021.
Ongoing Case:
Closed
🔴 High Risk